Services
For cliens
For partners
+7 351 21401408:30-17:30 (+5 GMT)
Knowledge base
Simple instructions to work with the ProfitServer service
What’s the difference between virtual VPS server and dedicated server?

In order to tell you what the difference between virtual and dedicated servers is we should explain the meaning of “virtual server” and “dedicated server” first.

Dedicated server

Dedicated server is a physical machine that belongs to one client. It means that if you want to buy a dedicated server, all the machine’s resources will belong to you exclusively. Only you will be able to use the capacity of this machine. You will be able to do whatever you want on this server, even launch virtualization technologies on your dedicated server or create several virtual servers (VPS)

Virtual server

Also very widely known as VPS (Virtual Private Server) or VDS (Virtual Dedicated Server), which is pretty much the same. A software environment that allows you to launch several isolated servers with the help of virtualization technologies (we use KVM) can be created on a dedicated server.

A user that logs in to such server will have full access to it as if he worked with a physical server. However, in this case, all the resources of the physical machine will be divided between all the virtual environments (clients).

However, it doesn’t mean that a virtual server is necessarily worse than dedicated. It highly depends on the configuration parameters. Sometimes, a virtual server’s configuration can outperform configuration of a dedicated server. That’s why when you buy a virtual server, you should pay close attention to the configuration that you need. Flexible plan is always better, because you can always change your configuration on the go.

One of the disadvantages of a virtual server is dependence on other clients of the node (who use the same physical server where your virtual server is hosted). If any of the clients begin to experience excessive load, it may affect performance of virtual servers of other clients.

Please, rate this article:
Ask a question
We are always ready to answer your questions at any time of day or night.
Please, check our Knowledge base, most likely the answer to your question is already there!

Услуги
Клиентам
Партнерам
База знаний
Простые инструкции по работе с сервисом ProfitServer
Чем отличается виртуальный сервер от выделенного (dedicated) сервера
18.06.2018 14:06
Centurion
Капитан Профитсервер

Чтобы ответить на вопрос чем отличается виртуальный от выделенного сервера, следует объяснить что такое виртуальный, и что такое выделенный серверы. 

Выделенный сервер

Такой сервер еще называют Dedicated (англ. выделенный). Это физический сервер, который принадлежит одному клиенту. То есть, если вы решите заказать выделенный сервер, то все ресурсы этой машины будут принадлежать вам. Только вы будете пользоваться всей мощностью данной машины. Вы можете на этом сервере делать все что угодно, включая запуск технологий виртуализации и создание на вашем выделенном сервере нескольких виртуальных серверов (VPS)

Виртуальный сервер

Очень часто используется сокращение VPS (Virtual Private Server) или VDS (Virtual Dedicated Server). По сути — это одно и тоже.  На выделенном сервере создается программная среда, которая позволяет, с помощью технологии виртуализации (в нашем случае KVM) запустить несколько изолированных серверов.

Пользователь, зайдя на такой сервер будет иметь полный доступ с нему, как если бы он работал с физическим сервером. Только в этом случае, все ресурсы мощного физического сервера будут делиться на всех клиентов.

Это не означает, что виртуальный сервер хуже физического. Все зависит от параметров конфигурации. Иногда конфигурация виртуального сервера может превосходить по ресурсам выделенный. Поэтому при заказе виртуального сервера, следует уделить внимание подбору конфигурации. Лучше всего использовать гибкий тариф, с возможностью изменить ресурсы позже.

Из минусов виртуального сервера можно назвать зависимость от других клиентов ноды (физический сервер на котором расположены виртуальные). Если кто-то из клиентов начнет создавать избыточную нагрузку, это может привести к замедлению работы все остальных виртуальных машин. 

Пожалуйста, оцените эту статью:
Ответы на вопросы (0)
    Задайте вопрос
    Мы всегда готовы ответить на Ваши вопросы в любое время суток.
    Пожалуйста, проверьте нашу Базу Знаний, скорее всего ответ на ваш вопрос там уже есть!
    {$lang? ' ':' '}